Government Hall of Fame Inductees Include Paul A. Volcker and Former Alliance Board Members

Monday, August 19, 2019
Government Executive
  • 1 of 4
  • 2 of 4
  • 3 of 4
  • 4 of 4

On September 19, 2019, Volcker Alliance President Thomas W. Ross accepted an award on behalf of our chairman and founder Paul A. Volcker, honoring him as an inaugural inductee into the Government Hall of Fame.

On August 15, 2019, Government Executive unveiled the inaugural inductees of the Government Hall of Fame, which included Paul A. Volcker and two Volcker Alliance founding board members, Alice Rivlin and Donna Shalala. According to Tom Shoop, Government Executive vice president and editor in chief, the Government Hall of Fame was created to "honor the best of the best: those who have demonstrated sustained achievement and unparalleled dedication to public service. The Hall of Fame inductees have had an historic impact on changing government for the better, and their stories serve as an inspiration to others." Other inductees included Apollo 11 astronauts Buzz Aldrin, Neil Armstrong, and Michael Collins, NASA mathematician Katherine Johnson, U.S. President Theodore Roosevelt, and Civil War nurse Clara Barton.

The article praised the work of Volcker, Rivlin, and Shalala in their service to the federal government: 

"Paul Volcker served in the federal government for almost 30 years, including two terms as chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System from 1979 to 1987. He also was an undersecretary of the Treasury from 1969 to 1974. After his service in government, Volcker dedicated himself to improving and modernizing the civil service, serving as chairman of the National Commission on the Public Service and later creating the Volcker Alliance, whose mission is to advance effective management of government to achieve results."

"A fiscal and monetary policy expert, Alice Rivlin was founding director of the Congressional Budget Office. There, she earned credit for establishing CBO as an authoritative and bipartisan source of fiscal analysis. Earlier in her career, Rivlin was an assistant secretary in the then-Department of Health, Education and Welfare in the Lyndon B. Johnson administration. Later, she served as director of the Office of Management and Budget under President Clinton and as vice chairwoman of the Federal Reserve. During the District of Columbia's financial crisis in the late 1990s, Rivlin chaired the city’s Financial Responsibility and Management Assistance Authority."

"After a lengthy career in academia, Donna Shalala served as secretary of Health and Human Services for the full eight years of the Clinton administration. At the end of her tenure, the Washington Post described her as 'one of the most successful government managers of modern times.' She started her federal service as one of the first volunteers in the Peace Corps from 1962 to 1964. In 2007, President George W. Bush appointed Shalala to co-chair the President's Commission on Care for America's Returning Wounded Warriors. In 2008, she was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom. Shalala was elected to the House of Representatives from Florida in 2018."

Read the full article in Government Executive here.

Contact the Volcker Alliance


Follow us